Week 4 of the Challenge

download

Photo Credit

My progress in my Challenge is starting to lag. I know one culprit – I’m doing what I always do, which is this script. “Oh I’m doing so good, and it hasn’t been that hard. I’ll just have a little bit of XYZ today. It doesn’t matter if my calories are a little bit higher than they have been, I shouldn’t have to stay so low every day…” And then that mindset starts to repeat on a daily basis.

And unfortunately, for my body, a little bit higher on the calories does make a difference. If I go too much higher than the 1200-1300 range, I don’t lose weight. And then I get mad about that because it seems incredibly unfair, and start to eat more junk because I’m mad about it, and then quickly start gaining.

So anyway, I shot up about a pound and a half earlier this week, and it’s staying put for now. It’s frustrating – I want to end on a good note, so I’m trying really hard to make good choices for myself here in the last few days.

One thing I’ve really been loving is this Roasted Red Pepper & Tomato soup, available at Costco. It’s delicious, and only 110 calories for a cup. I usually pair it with a small baked potato or salad, and can easily get a filling lunch for under 250 calories. It’s way easier to keep this at work than packing a lunch every day too.

Roasted-Red-Pepper-Tomato-450Speaking of food, I think the other culprit is candy. With Halloween around the corner, it’s starting to appear everywhere. I have just a little here and there, but it’s adding up, I know. I think I’m going to try to cut candy for three weeks and see how it goes. I wish I didn’t love candy so much. 😦 The most ridiculous thing is that in recent months, as I have tried to eat an overall healthier diet, regular candy like Hershey’s doesn’t even taste very good anymore. The good chocolate like Ghirardelli still does, but regular candy now tastes waxy and weird to me. But yet, I still eat it, because I still want it to taste good. I still want the happiness a Twix bar used to bring to me. So I’ve decided to go cold-turkey for a few weeks, and at least break the habit of having something sweet after meals. We’ll see how it goes.

Working out has been going well this week. Still doing a stationary bike at the gym for cardio, and the Jillian Michaels Body Revolution videos at home for strength training. Thinking my body may be used to those, and possibly time to get something new, maybe one of the newer Beachbody workouts. I don’t know. I’d love to hear suggestions for any at-home strength series workouts that you’ve enjoyed.

Challenge ends tomorrow – wish me luck on my final weigh-in. Also, on a more exciting note, tomorrow is our school district’s Cross Country Running Jamboree, and I’ll have all three of my kids running in it for the first time! Can’t wait!

This entry was posted in Fitness Challenge. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

