Update on the Candy Challenge

photo (8)

About a month ago, I decided I was going to try to give up candy for a few weeks going into Halloween. Here’s an update: I failed. Many times. Like, daily. Several times I made it for two days in a row. But that’s it.

This week I was determined to make it three days: Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday. I had identified my biggest stumbling block, which is my urge to have a little something sweet after lunch every day. I came up with a substitute (Craisins). I made my goal realistic, and focused on cutting candy only, not all sweets (baby steps). Day One – did great. Day Two – did great. Day Three – had a pre-existing date for frozen yogurt with some friends. I came up with a plan. I’d get vanilla yogurt with strawberry sauce, granola, and some nuts. Delicious and candy-free.

So here’s how it went down. I walk into the yogurt place, and they don’t have strawberry sauce. Hmmmm… going to think of a back-up. Ooooooh, root beer float flavor? Yummy! Yep, that’s what I’m getting. Now what would be good on this? Heath bars? Yep! Oreos? Yep! Butterfinger bits? Yep! ….. pay for yogurt …. eat entire thing ….. Oh. Whoops. I am not supposed to be eating candy.

Yep. Just totally and completely forgot – so mesmerized was I by the root beer float froyo flavor. Sigh.

The good news is that I had Halloween candy tonight and it didn’t even taste that great to me. So…. back on the wagon tomorrow. Day One, anybody?

This entry was posted in Goals, Whoops and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Update on the Candy Challenge

  1. That’s hilarious! I gave up candy for lent once, but I ended up saving it in a lunchbox and I are it all the day after lent which may have defeated the purpose. But keep trying, eventually you’ll be successful. I’m going through the same thing when it comes to giving up soda.

    Like

Leave a Reply

