Proudest Fitness Moments!

This week’s Dish the Fit is about our Proudest Fitness Accomplishments. Of course my thoughts immediately went to running, but I tried to branch out at least a little bit! Here they are, in no particular order….

Sub-28 minute 5K
During the summer of 2013, I ran a 5K every month, trying to shave off a full minute each time. When I started out, I was running pretty consistent 10 minute miles, with my normal 5K time right around 31 minutes. I first tried to get it under 30 minutes, then 29, and so on. My last race of the summer I went all out, and finished in a 5K PR of 27:35! This was an awesome pace for me – I had tried forever to bust past that 10-minute mile pace! I was sooo proud of myself for getting down to a sub-9 minute mile average.

IMG_3915

Learning to Ski
While most people think the worst thing about Alaskan winters is the cold or the darkness, for me it’s the length of the winter. We usually get our first snowfall in October, and it’s not all the way melted until May. Yes, you are counting correctly – that is EIGHT MONTHS of the year that we have snow on the ground.

In 2012 I decided I needed a wintertime sport. I was not willing to run outside (working on conquering that this year), so I decided to learn to cross country ski. My aunt and I skied all over the gorgeous trails of Anchorage, and my attitude towards the winter changed almost immediately. Forecasts of more snow and a longer winter meant more ski dates, more gazing out at the most beautiful scenery on this earth. I was out and enjoying nature, and best of all, I was warm!

I hate downhill skiing, so trying cross country skiing was a leap of faith, and one I’m proud of myself for taking. One more awesome way to get a cardio workout in, and enjoy the outdoors at the same time! Best of all, it’s something I can do with my kids!

IMG_0596

Marathon
It wasn’t fast, and it wasn’t pretty, but I met my goal and I did it. I never want to do another one, but it’s something that I believe should be on every runner’s bucket list, and I’m proud of myself for tackling the challenge. It’s a boring one, but it’s gotta make my list. No pics – pre-digital camera days – that’s how long ago it was!

Triathlon
Last year I was a little restless. A little tired of running, and ready for a new challenge. I’m not sure how I even got the idea of a sprint triathlon in my head, but once it was there, I couldn’t shake it. Training in 3 sports while juggling a full-time job and raising 3 kids? Atrocious. But I did it. The running was no big deal, but it had been 15-20 YEARS since I’d done any sort of biking or swimming. But thanks to the Internet and my husband, I figured it out, made time for the training, and completed the race – blowing my goal time out of the water. Oh, and falling in love with triathlons in the process. I’ll be back at this same race next year, and hoping to add another to the agenda as well!

IMG_1835

Staying Active with My Kids
Alaska has an incredibly high childhood obesity rate. It’s easy to stay inside and stay warm and toasty during those eight. long. months. of winter. However, it’s not good for me, and it’s not good for my kids. It’s a challenge sometimes to get them out and moving, but we do it, and I’m proud of us! Running, hiking, biking, skiing, skating, hockey – we do it allllll!!!!!

IMG_2844[1]IMG_4245IMG_3700IMG_4775

Watching My Dad Run the Boston Marathon
Okay, I know. Watching a marathon is a fitness accomplishment? Um, okay, whatever. But hear me out. The year we went to Boston to watch my dad run the marathon was unbelievable. To watch all those thousands of runners, to watch them struggle and persevere, to think of all the hours and sacrifice by themselves and their families, to watch them running with both pain and pride – it made me so proud to be a runner. So proud to be a part of this community. So proud to be a spectator and cheering on my dad as he did something truly amazing. I had tears running down my cheeks, and I’ve never been so proud to be an athlete.

P1020826************************************************************************************

Do you cry when spectating races?

What sport have you tried that was totally outside your comfort zone?

Favorite Fitness Accomplishment?

************************************************************************************

This entry was posted in Family Fitness Fun, Finding the Time, Goals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Proudest Fitness Moments!

  1. jillconyers says:

    Awesome accomplishments! Every time I read about a tri I’m so tempted to try! Maybe one day šŸ™‚

    Like

  2. shanks324 says:

    Great list! A marathon and tri are both on my bucket list. Hope to get to them someday. I try to be active as much as possible with the kids as well! šŸ™‚ Awesome that you got to watch your Dad run Boston, that would definitely bet a touching moment!

    Like

  3. Dominique says:

    27:35 Holy cow! Great job! Keep up the good work.

    Like

  4. Awesome PR! and triathlons are definitely something I can see doing in the next few years!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

