Best 50K for Beginners?

IMG_4938P1020826

So when I was running with my dad on my vacation last week, he started out our conversation like this, “I’ve been wanting to talk to you girls about something for a little while now. I wasn’t sure if I’d get a chance to talk to you privately, so I’m really glad we’re doing this so I can tell you what I’ve been thinking about.” Of course my mind jumps to several horrible scenarios, which is the only explanation that my first emotion was just relief when he followed it up with, “I think we should run an ultra together.”

I distinctly remember telling someone this year that not only was I done with marathons, but I was pretty sure I didn’t even have another half-marathon in me. I’ve fallen in love with the shorter distances and triathlons, and I’d pretty much given up on longer distances. But… how much fun would that be, to run with my dad and sister? So, I’m in – on one condition. The race has to be in late summer or early fall, so that I don’t have to do the bulk of my training in the snow or on the treadmill.

None of us have ever done one, so we’re looking for a 50K, hopefully something not incredibly challenging and with a relatively generous time cut-off. We’re hoping to take it easy, and just get out there for a fun day together and cross something off our running bucket lists.

So… any suggestions for a 50K somewhere on or near the West Coast in the last half of 2015?

Ever thought about doing an ultra?

This entry was posted in Bucket List, Goals and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

