What We’ve Been Up To

Workouts have been a little boring around here lately. Lots of treadmill running, lots of workout videos at home. The weather hasn’t been the greatest, and I’ve been hurting for running buddies.

But…. I did FINALLY do this!

IMG_5355

Studded my running shoes! The local running store does it, and it’s taken me all winter to get my butt in gear and get it done! They put screws into your shoes all around the perimeter, and it helps you grip in and stay stable on the ice and snow. I did a couple of miles on the bumpy, icy sidewalks and didn’t feel unsteady at all – they’re amazing!

In other news, I did an easy three miles with my friend on Saturday, and then felt good after she went home and decided to do a few more. I haven’t gone more than 3 miles in WAY too long, and it felt amazing.

IMG_5349 IMG_5343

I’ve been trying hard not to overextend our little family, and to make sure we get lots of downtime together at home. My mom came to visit for a few weeks, and that was amazing. We’ve worked on the snap circuit set my kids got for Christmas, made some stuffed animals, and my youngest started her own version of yoga. Basically just relaxing and hanging out together.

IMG_5365 IMG_5362 IMG_5329 IMG_5268

And I think we’ve FINALLY found an ultra to race this year! We’ve had a bunch of dates that would work, and a bunch of races that looked interesting, but no good races on the good dates. But we’re looking at the Skyline to Shore 50K in California in October. Hoping this gives me plenty of time to train, and also squeeze in some other races I’ve been excited about.


Linking up this week at the Weekend Update at Running N Reading!

This entry was posted in Week in Review and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What We’ve Been Up To

  1. First of all, thanks so much for linking up with the blog this week! I hope you’ll join the Weekend Update again; it’s a great community. I love that your local running shop “studded” your shoes for you; that’s awesome! My husband bought me some Stabilicers for Christmas, so that I’ll be ready when the ice hits (it’s inevitable). They are essentially the same thing, just on removable rubber things that go on and off of your shoes; I’m so glad to hear that this worked for you. A 50K trail run will be super-fun; that’s a great race to look forward to for later in the year. Hope you have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

