Friday Five: Favorite Indoor Workouts

Today I’m linking up for the Friday Five with Mar, Cynthia, and Courtney, and the topic is Favorite Indoor Workouts!

Since from October to May it looks pretty much like this…..

IMG_4997

….I am well acquainted with indoor workouts! While I have loved getting outside this winter, the reality is that I usually only workout outside on Saturdays. The rest of the week if I’m not at work, it’s dark out (good old Alaska). Therefore, I do a lot of strength and cardio workouts inside.

Here are my tops:

SworkitRectangleBanner

1) My current favorite strength training app is Sworkit. Anyone else use this? You can choose between Strength, Cardio, Yoga, or Stretching, and then further customize your workout within those choices. For instance, I’ve been doing Strength, and you can choose Full Body, Upper Body, Core, Lower Body, or Rump Roaster (heh). You choose the amount of time you have to work out, and your workout begins! None of the exercises require equipment, it’s all body resistance stuff, which makes it easy and quick to do wherever you are!

2) Jillian Michaels’ Body Revolution is another great one. I wrote an earlier blog post comparing it to Insanity, since I have tried both. I love Jillian workouts because she knows how to fit an awesome workout into a short amount of time. As a busy working mom, I need that.

3) Zumba! I’ve met several people who tried Zumba and didn’t like it, but I love it. Like so many group fitness classes, so much depends on the teacher, so make sure you try a few instructors’ classes before making up your mind! I’ve gone to one that was barely a workout at all, one that was an intense cardio workout, and one where the instructor had us dropping and doing push-ups between songs. It just really varies!

4) Walking on an incline. Running on a treadmill is not my super favorite, especially first thing in the morning. I definitely log my hours, but it’s not going to make it onto a list of my top 5 of anything! However, walking on an incline is challenging enough that I can feel it the next day, but easy enough to chat with my workout buddies and make the time pass a little faster. Many mornings when I can’t get myself out of bed at 6am for a run, I can at least wrap my brain around an incline walk, and that gets me out the door.

5) Tone It Up workouts. I love Tone It Up because they’re free, easy to access, and add variety to my strength training. I admit the videos are a little silly (I shall just brush the rose petals off my chaise lounge before using it for crunches!), but I’m always sore the next day and I love the ocean background of many of the workouts.


What’s your favorite app for strength training? I’m always looking for new ideas!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friday Five: Favorite Indoor Workouts

  1. disneykatie says:

    I usually just find some workout video on youtube when I need something. Jillian Michaels has some stuff up there.

    Like

Leave a Reply

